Year of the Dragon preparations

Two things I look forward to in the Year of the Dragon:

1.) Increased availability of dragon-flavored merchandise. That’s right, time to stock up!

2.) Crazy stories about Chinese people trying to do everything they can from January 23, 2012 to February 9, 2013, including having kids. My favorite shock-and-awe stories: parents delaying or inducing births so their kids will be blessed by the dragon year.

I have to admit that I’m not exactly immune to my Chinese heritage (having a dragon offspring would be fun), but that would be unwise. My husband delights in poking at my tendency for Chinese cultural “superstitions,” as he calls them. (Don’t worry, there are things that I mock him for that are rather politically incorrect and probably tasteless as well.) We also debate the degrees of parsimony from our respective backgrounds, but his Scottish blood quails in comparison to Chinese miserliness.

Anyway, I think this red dragon is turning out nicely! I’m using felt and the small pattern from Sew Lolita’s dragon. My stitches are cruder that the ones in the original, but I take consolation in that gives the dragon a nice, handmade mien. However, next time I will use and enlarged pattern with seam allowances because I’d like a large dragon and, man, it takes a long time to sew anything by hand.

(Although, next on my list will probably be a wearable trial of Megan Nielsen’s Darling Ranges dress and a Toothless plush pattern, tutorial developed by Spirit-of-America on Deviant Art.)

Leave a Reply

