Annual dose of saltpeter


My favorite part of Chinese New Year, barring time spent with family, are the lion dancers. Or any time really. Whenever I hear the characteristic drumming, I follow the volume like a child led off by the pied piper. They’re just so energetic and happy looking!

Traumatizing children is part of the job


(I was a bit jealous of my sister because she got to be a lion dancer when she was in college. She did tell me that she dreaded parades since she was the head, meaning that she had to be cheerful and acrobatic while lifting a 10-15 pound head for an hour. Yikes.)

Lion noms baby



Anyway, happy year of the dragon!

The dragon is whispering, "Psst. Finish your thesis."

Leave a Reply

