So say we all: Emerald City Comicon

While I’m updating about conventions, I also went to Emerald City Comicon, which was the week before Sakuracon. The residents of downtown Seattle did look confounded after two weeks of intense costumes. I didn’t go in costume because, well, I am not a big comic book reader. Except for Fables by Bill Willingham and Bone, which are both fantastic. I did go to see the lineup of guests, which was really stellar this year: Edward James Olmos (Admiral Adama from Battlestar Galatica), Adam Baldwin (Jayne from Firefly), James and Oliver Phelps (Weasley twins), Summer Glau (River from Firefly), Pendleton Ward (creator of Adventure Time), John DiMaggio (Voice of Bender and Jake the Dog), Rob Paulsen & Maurice LaMarche (Pinky & the Brain) Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones, and a whole slew of comic book artists and cartoonists. And Wil Wheaton. (WHEATOONNNNNN!!!!)

I picked up this artwork from BritSketch as well as her book. Her artwork is so fun and bubbly! I found her last year when “Up and Away” caught my eye! I wish I had been able to pick up more of her art, but you know… space and money constraints. In the future! “Rain Boots,” “Laka,” and “Morning Fog” are on my wishlist. =)

Sadly, due to poor planning on my part, I was only able to attend panels with the first 3 since I was only there for one day, but they were worth going for! I thought about going to see Pendleton Ward, but queuing through the enormous line of people/kids dressed as Adventure Time characters would have meant that I wouldn’t be able to do anything else.

I did get to meet Edward James Olmos. Granted, it was in the signing line, but he was very personable to every fan of his that came by. *fangirl flail* He shook my hand! And said he was very proud of my accomplishing my PhD when I told him I turned in my thesis! And was really nice in person! And is a certifiable badass! Seriously, he was invited to advise the United Nations on racial relations and told them “There is no such thing as a Hispanic race, Asian race, African, European. Yes, there are cultural differences, but we are of ONE race: the human race.”

EEEEEEeeeEEEEeee! Admiral Adama congratulated me on my PhD!



Adam Baldwin: the man they call Jayne!

Just like Jayne, he gets really excited talking about guns.

He is a pretty nice guy and invited kids who were asking questions on stage with him.


James and Oliver Phelps, aka. Fred & George.

"We're no longer identical!" ...well, except genetically, but you know....the hair...

James telling about when he found out about Fred at the end of Deathly Hallows while in Japan on a train.


Edward James Olmos!

What can I say? He's passionate about everything he does: acting, activism, rocking out...
Oh, he did mention that he was offered the role of Captain of the Enterprise before Patrick Stewart. Thankfully, he turned it down becuase he probably wouldn't have been on Battlestar Galactica if he had!

I ended my day with Edward James Olmos’s rousing chorus of “So say we all!” =)

Leave a Reply

