Boo! (and a quilt)

Boo! It’s the dreaded quilt ghost!

Whew, it’s been a really long time since I’ve last updated. The last few months have been a whirlwind: in addition to traveling (not relaxing), I started my new job, wrapped up a lot experiments for my paper, and we bought a house, which is always an ordeal. Oh, and I decided to make a quilt.

Spooky quilt


I made it for my husband’s aunt, who he always likes to gift with a spooky affair. I figured that this quilt would be a fun way to celebrate the season, but the monochrome colors make it a less in-your-face, cheesy Halloween quilt.

I may have also used as an excuse to use the adorb “Party of Boo Gray” fabric from Lizzy House’s “Guising” collection. ^_~ And luckily, my favorite quilting fabric store also had a sizeable collection of Halloween fabric, of which my husband picked out a bunch of matching black/white/gray fabric. That man has a much better fashion sense than I do.

Awesome Halloween fabric!

But that’s not the best part of the quilt. To complete the spooky ambience, this is the the best part:

Dude, this quilt glows in the dark!

I totally used Rae’s Storytime Squares quilt pattern, complete with fabric adhesive and cheater’s bind-off method. Rae’s instructions were great and easy to understand. Not bad for my first real quilt. And now my husband has requested one for himself, so I guess that’s a good sign.

Back end of boo quilt


Oh, and my husband decided to be goofy when I asked him to help me take some photos. Serves me right, I suppose. =)

Covert photo in the sketchy apartment alleyway.


Take that, paparazzi!

4 thoughts on “Boo! (and a quilt)

  1. That’s fantastic! (fangtastic?), I hope it was appreciated. I’m currently making the pinkest of pink quilts for my 6year old, but she’d love one like that too. If of course I ever feel like making a second. love your blog, going straight into my feed!

    • Oh wow, thanks! I saw that you were making a pink quilt (Hello Kitty!) and thought it was awesome! (Of all the things from my childhood, the ones I remember best are my stuffed kitty and a simple yellow quilt.) And it’s a pretty awesome girl who appreciates Hello Kitty and glow-in-the-dark skeletons. Following you now too! =)

  2. Thank you! It’s nice that we have such positive memories of childhood textiles. I think she is pretty awesome, even allowing for maternal bias, nice to see a child who loves Dr Who, Adventure Time, My Little Pony and Hello Kitty in equal measure. I love the restraint of your quilt colours, even more so as I get ready to start hand-quilting The Pink One.

Leave a Reply

