Tsuru messenger bag

TsuruWhile I’m at it, here is my Tsuru messenger that I made way back in June. (I have a backlog of unblogged projects.) I fell head over heels for Rashida Coleman Hale’s Tsuru fabric line and wanted to make something that I could use often, though I do also want to use the remaining bits for a quilt. I wanted a new day satchel and Aleah’s No Time To Sew Messenger bag tutorial seem to fit the bill: simple, easy to sew, and is a useful size for non-work jaunts. It didn’t take me too long either, maybe about 5 hours from start to finish?

Pocket construction.  Bonus: quilted fish bag that was a gift from my PI.  My lab is a crafty one

Pocket construction. Bonus: quilted fish bag that was a gift from my PI. My lab is a crafty one


Also a bonus: searching for this fabric introduced me to Drygood Designs, which Art call “the Speakeasy sewing store.”

This bag has gotten quite a lot of use over the year. It’s been to two weddings (fits a camera, sweater, water bottle, cell phone…), the ballet, the zoo, festivals, and many other Seattle excursions.

Yep, fulfills my requirements.

Yep, fulfills my requirements.


Redundant photo, but oh man, that summer sun looks glorious right now.

Redundant photo, but oh man, that summer sun looks glorious right now.


Pockets

Pockets

2 thoughts on “Tsuru messenger bag

Leave a Reply

